Last Tune Up for Thunder Before Badminton Championships

Last Tune Up for Thunder Before Badminton Championships


On Sunday afternoon the Olds College Broncos hosted ACAC Badminton Tournament #3 where the Concordia Thunder managed to find the top of the podium in four of the five individual events. On the team side, the Thunder finished in 2nd place on the tournament with 165 points and 428 on the season only behind the NAIT Ooks with 555 points.

Thunder’s Nicolas Pittman had himself a great day on the courts as he claimed the men’s singles title by defeating Narayan Ramdhani of Kings 21-11, 21-10. Braxton Wong (3-1) and Jordan Tao (2-2) were the Thunder’s other entries in the men’s singles division where they would battle each other in the thrilling 5th-6th consolation match where Wong won 30-29, 30-29.

In the women’s singles division, Takeisha Wang was able to keep her perfect season in check as she took home the title by defeating Eyota Kwan of NAIT 21-17, 21-15 in the finals. Kassidy Turcotte (2-2), Kennedy Turcotte (2-2) and Kaylee Morris (1-3) where the Thunders other three entries in the division.

In the men’s doubles competition, it was the duo of Desmond Wang and Nicolas Pittman who took their third title of the season by defeating John Li and Tyler Walsh of NAIT (21-15, 21-9). The second pairing of Braxton Wong and Raphael Wong finished in 3rd place with a 2-1 record.

Kaylee Morris and Kassidy Turcotte were the Thunder’s only pairing in the women’s doubles event where they would finish in 3rd place by defeating Kings duo Angelica Alberto and Chanel Simrose 21-16, 21-15 in the consolation match.

With easily one of the most dangerous pairings in the CCAA, sibling duo Takeisha Wang and Desmond Wang defended their undefeated status by defeating NAIT pairing of John Li and Connie Juang 21-8, 21-14 in the finals to claim the title for a third time this season. The second Thunder duo composed of Jordan Tao and Kennedy Turcotte finished in 4th place with a 1-2 record.

This tournament was the last tune up before conference championships that will be held on February 16-17, 2019 at Concordia University of Edmonton.